Start to finish Hamilton dominates

Published by on Jun 18th, 2007, No Comments

_43059309_lewis270.jpgLewis Hamilton produced yet another incredible performance to claim his second successive F1 win in a McLaren one-two at the US Grand Prix.

The victory, in his first-ever race in Indianapolis, saw the Briton extend his lead over team-mate Fernando Alonso in the title race to 10 points. Hamilton held off an attempted pass from Alonso on lap 39 but after that the pair did not race each other again. The Ferraris of Felipe Massa and Kimi Raikkonen took third and fourth place.

Just seven days after claiming a maiden Grand Prix win in Canada, Hamilton delivered another assured drive at the famous Motor Speedway circuit.

Results from the United States Grand Prix, Indianapolis Motor Speedway:

1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1hr 31min 09.965 2. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren +00:01.518
3. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 00:12.842
4. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 00:15.422
5. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) Renault 00:41.402
6. Jarno Trulli (Italy) Toyota 01:06.703
7. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull-Renault 01:07.331
8. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) BMW Sauber 01:07.783
9. Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy) Renault 1 lap
10. Alexander Wurz (Austria) Williams-Toyota 1 lap
11. Anthony Davidson (Britain) Super Aguri-Honda 1 lap
12. Jenson Button (Britain) Honda 1 lap
13. Scott Speed (U.S.) Toro Rosso-Ferrari 2 laps
14. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Spyker-Ferrari 2 laps
15. Christijan Albers (Netherlands) Spyker-Ferrari 3 laps
16. retired Nico Rosberg (Germany) Williams-Toyota 5 laps
17. retired Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy) Toro Rosso-Ferrari 5 laps
R Nick Heidfeld (Germany) BMW Sauber 18 laps
R Takuma Sato (Japan) Super Aguri-Honda 60 laps
R David Coulthard (Britain) RedBull-Renault 73 laps
R Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Honda 73 laps
R Ralf Schumacher (Germany) Toyota 73 laps

Fastest lap: Kimi Raikkonen, 1:13.117 on lap 49.

R = retired

Lewis Hamilton wins the Montreal Grandprix

Published by on Jun 11th, 2007, 1 Comment


Lewis Hamilton,the big surprize of this season, wins the Montreal Grandprix.

As Hamilton resumed the lead, Heidfeld got the jump on Alonso, who just kept Felipe Massa at bay. The Brazilian had been assaulted lightly by team mate Kimi Raikkonen in the melee, and lost a place to Nico Rosberg.

The first safety-car came when Spyker’s Adrian Sutil smacked a wall out the back of the circuit on lap 22, the lap on which Hamilton first refuelled. Alonso and Williams’ Nico Rosberg came in on lap 23, before the pit lane was officially opened, and would subsequently drop down the order after serving their resulting stop-and-go penalties.

After the track went clear again, Kubica had a horrible crash in the very quick left-hander prior to the hairpin on lap 27, his BMW Sauber hitting the outside wall and then rolling all the way down to the hairpin entry. As the safety car came out again the Pole was released from the wreckage, mercifully conscious and lucid, and was hospitalised with a suspected broken ankle.

It was a chaotic race, but Hamilton’s finely judged victory and set him back in the lead of the world championship, with eight points over Alonso, and 15 clear of the disgruntled Massa. In the constructors’, McLaren extended their lead over Ferrari to 28 points, 88 to 60.

Alonso back on top

Published by on May 28th, 2007, 1 Comment


They came, they saw, they conquered. The McLarens, that is. Fernando Alonso only lost the lead to team mate Lewis Hamilton during the pit stops, and then not for long.

The rookie, meanwhile, fended off Felipe Massa at the start and successfully rode shotgun, never quite able to launch a challenge, all the way to the flag. The silver cars arrived there four seconds apart after their 78-lap demonstration run, and it was another 65 seconds before Massa’s Ferrari crossed the line. (more…)

Hamilton leads the F1

Published by on May 14th, 2007, No Comments

hamilton f1 news

After four races, and a record-breaking four successive podiums for a rookie, Lewis Hamilton leaves Barcelona as the leader of the 2007 Formula One Drivers Championship, something that not even he could have imagined possible when he signed the contract with Ron Dennis back in late 2006. But despite not winning his first race yet in motorsports elite series, Lewis is showing the kind on consistency that allowed team mate Fernando Alonso to take the 2005 title with Renault, and the kind of spirit that made such names as Jim Clark, Ayrton Senna and Gilles Villeneuve title contenders on so many different occasions.

Lewis is bound to make mistakes this year, as have many drivers around him have, but to become the first Briton to lead the championship in over four years, it is something to cherish for the future when, in years to come, Hamilton lifts the important trophy at the end of a season. Probably not 2007, maybe not even 2008, but at some point, the young man will surely succeed in his dream and goal.

Traction control banned in 2008

Published by on Apr 3rd, 2007, No Comments


Traction control will be banned in Formula One from next year, the sport’s governing body confirmed on Friday. The systems, standard on most ordinary road cars to reduce wheelspin and make vehicles easier to handle in the wet, were first banned at the end of 1993 to prevent the technology reducing the importance of driver skill. They were then reinstated in 2001 because of the difficulty of policing them amid allegations of cheating. That problem should be overcome with the introduction next year of standard electronic control units, the “brains” controlling the systems. Any device or system which notifies the driver of the onset of wheel spin is not permitted.